1998 Junior Pork Day

Over 200 youth, parents, and swine project leaders attended Purdue Junior Pork Day on March 21, 1998, sponsored jointly by the Department of Animal Sciences and 4-H Youth Department. The participants took part in a number of swine related activities, including judging classes, seminars, and activities stations. In the judging classes, participants had to place three live animal classes consisting of a market hog class, breeding gilt class, and a prospect pig class. Then in the meats cooler the contestants judged three classes of pork cuts, which were ham center slices, bacon, and pork loin cuts. The two seminars offered during Junior Pork Day were "Keep Your Pig Healthy" and "What's in that Dog." Finally, to help the 4-Her's complete their Swine Activity Manuals, they were able to participate in four different activity sessions, which included Ear-Notching, Proper Injections, Fun Facts, and pregnancy testing using Ultra Sound.

A special thanks goes to Swift-Armour Eckrich and Healthy Choice for sponsoring the lunch at Junior Pork Day. Another thanks goes out to the Indiana Swine Breeders Associations for the tremendous contributions to this event. Without the help of these companies and organizations, funfilled learning experiences like this one would not be possible.


Junior Pork Day Registration - where the fun begins.

A welcome from the Animal Sciences Department Head, Dr. Jeff Armstrong.

Brian Bowker helps participants mix the ingredients for hot dogs.

Eric Wynveen and Brian Bowker help in the formation of hot dogs.

Placing a class of ham center slices.

Eric Farrand giving live animal evaluation tips.

Healthy Choice ice cream followed the luncheon donated by Swift-Armour Eckrich.

Dr. Wayne Singleton demonstrates pregnancy testing a pig using ultrasound during the afternoon activity session.

Overall Judging Contest Winners
Senior: Adam Schmitt
Novice: Amber Gillin
Junior: Jeremiah Oehlman

Top Five Novice Winners
L to R: Brigitte Treadway, Len Newton, Brian Jackson, Amber Gillin, Craig Koors

Top Five Junior Winners
L to R: Kurt Fischer, Jeremiah Oehlman, Adam Lienhoop, Emily Richardson, Megan Carter

Top Five Senior Winners
L to R: Aaron Getz, Christin Oehlman, Brett Findley, Adam Schmitt, Eric Duttlinger

Dr. Clint Rusk helps winners select prizes donated by the following Indiana breed associations: Berkshire, Chester White, Duroc, Hampshire, Landrace, Poland China, Spot and Yorkshire.

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please email anscweb@purdue.edu